to the weaning mama with a frozen breastmilk stockpile


Around 11 months old, my son stopped drinking breastmilk from a bottle. We tried it in all sorts of varied sippy cups but he refused. While we continued breastfeeding at home, he preferred it straight from the tap so we stopped sending breastmilk to daycare. I continued pumping at work for a few weeks after his refusal and then slowly started to wind down after I realized it wasn’t a temporary strike.

I had accumulated a modest stockpile of breastmilk that he would never drink again. I had been following the adventures of a nearby milk bank and donation center and was excited to donate.

I finally got around to investigating what the criteria were to qualify and alas, I had waited too long! Now 21 months, I had let this one hang on my to-do list for too long. The maximum storage time in a regular freezer is 6 months (which I was over by about 4-6 months)


So with that, I tossed all 62 of of frozen breastmilk and tried not to shed too many tears in the process.


Above I am sharing some of the qualifications for any interested mamas out there in hopes it will reach you at just the right time.

If you are in the Midwest, check out Mothers Milk Bank of the Western Great Lakes for more great info.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Mom Life Now

Finding beauty in the everyday living.

catching days

"How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives." Annie Dillard

wonderment, etc

life, motherhood, and everything that comes with broken hallelujahs

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

